A FIFA 1966 World Cup winner's medal awarded retrospectively to the England player Jimmy Greaves, in .750 continental gold by Huguenin Freres, Switzerland, the obverse with an enlarged copy of the original 1966 medal in raised relief to the centre, the reverse with laurel and inscribed WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP, JULES RIMET CUP, ENGLAND 1966, circular, diameter 50mm., in wooden case of issue; sold with a signed letter of authenticity from Jimmy Greaves.

In November 2007 FIFA President Sepp Blatter announced that world soccer's governing body would award medals to those players who were part of a winning squad but did not play in the decisive match of tournaments between 1930 and 1974. Jimmy Greaves was one of 122 former players eligible to receive a World Cup winning medal after missing out on playing in the final tie in 1966. Coaching staff would also qualify for a medal.

Stanley Matthews's 1953 F.A. Cup Final winner's medal, in 9ct. gold, the reverse inscribed THE FOOTBALL ASSOCIATION, CHALLENGE CUP, WINNERS, in original case; sold with a Sotheby's Olympia auction catalogue 21st September 2001, with the medal featuring on the front cover.

In Coronation Year of 1953 and after 21 years as a professional footballer, Stanley Matthews finally won the F.A. Cup medal that had eluded him for so long. After a dramatic match in which Blackpool defeated Bolton Wanderers 4-3, Stanley Matthews was presented with this, the most fabled medal in the long and romantic history of the Football Association Challenge Cup by Her Majesty The Queen.

A 15ct. gold 1920 F.A. Cup winner's medal awarded to Sam Hardy of Aston Villa, inscribed 1920, ENGLISH CUP, ASTON VILLA FC., WINNERS, S. HARDY.

The 1920 FA Cup Final between Aston Villa and Huddersfield was played at Stamford Bridge. Aston Villa won 1-0 with a goal scored in extra time by Billy Kirton to clinch the trophy for a record sixth time. Estimate: £4000-6000

Peter Dougall (1909-74). A career archive, comprising a 14ct gold London Football Association medal, uninscribed (Birmingham 1932, 19.6g), in case of issue; 9ct gold The Central League 1937-38 medal, inscribed 'Everton F.C. / P. Dougal' (Birmingham 1936, 18.8g), in replacement case; 9ct gold Lancashire Football Association medal, inscribed 'Bury F.C. / Runners-Up / 1939-40 / P. Dougal' (Birmingham 1938, 16.1g), in case of issue; and two other 9ct gold medals, one inscribed 'S.E.T. / Won by / P. Dougal / 1921-22' , and the other 'S.D.S.A. / P. Dougal' (together 7.1g), uncased.

Together with a quantity of photographs and ephemera, including a black and white Arsenal team photograph, 1934-35 (19.5cm x 25cm), with two others; an individual portrait in Arsenal strip (15.5cm x 10cm); an individual ¬tion' portrait in Arsenal strip (15.5cm x 10cm); an Arsenal player contract, between Herbert Chapman, on behalf of Arsenal, and Peter Dougall, retaining the player from 21st October 1933 to 5th May 1934, on a weekly wage of £5 10s. 0d.; an Arsenal Îlebration Dinner' invitation, 1933; a black and white Everton team photograph, 1937-38 (20cm x 25.5cm); a black and white Sete team photograph, circa 1933 (13cm x 18cm), and other items, including further photographs.

Wales's first and only Triple Crown medal 1923-1924, a 9ct gold and enamel medal, the obverse inscribed "Welsh International Football Team", the reverse inscribed "Awarded to W. Jennings to commemorate the winning of the Triple Crown by Wales, Season 1923/24", maker's mark C.U., Birmingham 1928, with suspension ring. It took the Football Association of Wales four years to at last recognise the achievement of this team - resulting in this medal being struck in 1928.

Sold for £650

1926 F.A. Cup winners medal won by Billy Jennings, a 15ct gold medal, the obverse inscribed "1926", the reverse inscribed "Bolton Wanderers. F.A. Cup Winners At Wembley. W. Jennings". In the above F.A. Cup Final match played on 24th April 1926, Bolton Wanderers returned to Wembley and on this occasion beat Manchester City 1-0.

Sold for £4000

A 9ct gold Manchester City v. Tottenham Hotspur 1981 Centenary F.A.Cup final runners-up medal. The obverse inscribed The Football Association, the reverse inscribed The Football Association, Challenge Cup, Runners Up, the rim inscribed Season 1980-81, with ring suspension, in original fitted case.

In the above Centenary F.A.Cup final replay played on the 14th May 1981 at Wembley Tottenham Hotspur defeated Manchester City 3-2. The first match ending in a 1-1 draw. The lot is the property of former Manchester City and Coventry midfielder Dave Bennett. Estimate: £ 1500-2500

Items for Sale

Inter Milan 1994-95 player shirt by Umbro believed to have been issued to or match worn by a #15 during the 94-95 season when the side slumped to a 6th place finish in Serie A.


Buy now


Ajax 1995-96 player shirt by Umbro believed to have been match worn by Wooter in the 1995-96 Champions League Group D match against Ferencvaros played at the Olympic Stadion on the 6th December '95.


Buy now


Argentina 1998 player shirt by Adidas believed to have been issued to Berti for the 1998 World Cup Quarter Final against Holland played at Stade Vélodrome, Marseille on the 4th July '98.


Buy now


Romania 2000 player shirt by Adidas believed to have been match worn by Munteanu in the Euro 2000 Group A match against Germany played at Stade Maurice Dufrasne, Liège on the 12th June '00.


Buy now