The plaque from pillar number 3, from the East End at Ashton Gate Stadium, the home of Bristol City Football Club. The plaque is being auctioned off to raise funds for Bristol City Community Trust, to help further their work in the community.
If you wish to own a piece of Bristol City's East End history then please bid here. Over the years seats were added, barriers removed and numerous players and came and went. But the plaques on the iconic pillars have stayed throughout.
Reading simply “ERECTED BY JOHN LYSAGHT LTD, BRISTOL, 1928” these plaques are the birth certificate of the stand. Founded in 1857, the eponymous John Lysaght Ltd established the Netham Ironworks at St Phillip’s, Bristol before acquiring works in Wolverhampton, Newport, Scunthorpe and Australia. In 1920 Guest, Keen and Nettlefields (GKN) acquired the company but the John Lysaght Ltd name continued trading until the late 1960s. Although founded in Bristol the John Lysaght story stretched across the globe during Victorian and Edwardian times with work in Uganda, Argentina, Venezuela and The Philippines. In fact John Lysaght Ltd plaques can still be seen on Junction Lock Bridge (1925) by The Pump House pub and on the glorious Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus in Mumbai, India.